Determination


I’ve been thinking about this word a lot and I felt compeled to write a piece about it.

Determination. Webster’s New World Dictionary defines determination as such: n. 1 a determining or being determined 2 a firm intention 3 firmness of purpose

I like answer 2. A firm intention. To have determination is to have a firm intention. I thought about this recently and the word motivation came to mind. I asked myself ‘Aren’t determination and motivation the same?’ The answer to this is no. I can motivate myself to get up in the morning and run. Will I be determined enough to finish it? That is the defining factor. I can be motivated to run, but will I obtain my goal?

Motivation is a fleeting thing. It comes at you like a crazy idea. I think motivation strikes the most when a new year begins. You whip yourself into excitement and you begin all the preparations needed to attain your goal. The underlying question is- will it be met? Well, there is a 50% chance it will, and there is a 50% chance it will not. That, my friend, is up to you. Do you have the determination to finish the task?

Determination – having many obstacles in front of you and knowing you can fight through every one. This is my definition. I can be motivated, but will I be determined enough to tear down the wall.

Therefore, here is the next question. Where does motivation come from? Motivation stems from an idea that something sounds, and probably is, wonderful. Fitting into clothes, which no longer fit can be very motivating. However, as stated before, will you be determined enough to make it happen.

I’ve often wondered where determination comes from. Is determination bred into you? Do you find it in the depths of your soul during a traumatic event? Does determination find you in the middle of the night, after hours of wondering why you are living?

Wherever determination is stemmed, I love it. I will forever follow my unbreakable determination.

Please stay tuned for more on this piece. Or perhaps it should end right here. Comments are apprectiated. Let me know if I should talk more about where my determination comes from.

Posted on January 12, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good posting. Continue to keep up the very incredible performance.

    Like

  2. Brilliant, thanks, I will subscribe to you RSS soon!

    Like

    • That is great! Thank you so much for reading. I have to tell you that I can’t post as much as I would like to, but I hope I can keep you entertained with what is posted and that my new posts will keep you wanting more.

      Thank you again for checking out my blog.

      Like

Let it out... we are all listening.

