I Once Was Sad and All Alone


This poem was written almost 8 years ago. It was one of my first pieces of written work. I wrote to ease my depression; which is gone. I gave this to my therapist who loved it so much, that she made copies and handed it out to troubled women at a shelter. She told me they loved it and the women took the poem and hung it in their rooms. That made me cry. It’s not a perfect poem, but it has meaning. I hope you will look past the imperfections and find this poem inspiring, just as those women did – just as I do.

 

 

I once was sad and all alone.

Never a place to call a home.

My thoughts were lost and always empty.

I never had the chance to forgive me.

I could not control the pain inside.

I often wished I would die.

If these are words, to which you can relate.

Then you are reading this and it is not too late.

It’s not too late to turn around,

And pick your life up off the ground.

It’s not too late to make amends,

With the hurt that is buried within.

You have to focus and be strong.

It will be hard, but it will not take long.

It will not take long for the pain to filter.

Out of your mouth or even on paper.

At first, you will not want to do it.

You will fear someone will read it or hear it.

However, in time you will grow to learn.

Everyone has pain they want to let go.

You were just strong enough to let yours show.

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. blingg23@yahoo.com

    it is nice…

    Like

  2. This is beautiful! Thank you for sharing it!

    Like

Let it out... we are all listening.

