My Valentine’s Day Piece


Valentines Day is approaching, ( or has, depending on when you see this), and love will be in the air. I may be among the few when I say this, but I think that if you have a significant other, Valentines Day should not come but once a year in the relationship. Your love should be remembered always.

I have been married for 6 years. I don’t find myself celebrating this holiday like most. I used to dwell on it and my self-esteem would be bruised if something of significance didn’t occur. Now, I am happy that I am with a person who respects, supports, listens, laughs, and puts up with my psychotic disposition. He tells me he loves me all the time. He holds me when I need it and even when I don’t. I don’t reciprocate like I should, but I love him, (I’m not a touchy person).

If he buys me something, I’ll be grateful. However, if he doesn’t, I won’t cry or feel unappreciated. I feel that many people are pressured into believing they have to splurge, and that if they don’t, they have failed their relationship.

If you are with someone and you only use this day to treat your partner right, stop and evaluate what makes this day different from any other.

While it is nice to receive gifts like everyone else, it is also nice to receive gifts when others aren’t.

20120213-214351.jpg

My husband and I have these Nerf guns. I love to start trouble with them. It relieves tension and it’s fun. Plus, you get to shot somebody without hurting them. It’s a win-win!!

13 thoughts on “My Valentine’s Day Piece

  1. LOVE the nerf gun idea! What a great tension reliever!

    You have such a balanced approach to Valentine’s Day. My husband and I were talking last night about what we’re going to do. Well, first thing, we’re not going out. We never do on the special days (i.e. Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, etc.) We wait for hype to die down first.
    Second, it’s nice to just sit and enjoy each other’s company with a movie. That’s enough for me.

    Like

    1. The Nerf guns are so much fun. I like to try and hit my husband in the face. It’s complete mayhem to try and dine on holidays. I avoid it also. I just make a special dinner, or order pizza. Tonight? Meatloaf – his favorite. I think that it’s enough to be with each other. However, some need to be wined and dined. Me, not so much.

      I’m glad you liked my post. I will check out your blog soon. Thank you for reading and commenting. Hope this day ends with a good round of Nerf guns!

      Like

  2. I enjoyed reading your piece on Valentine’s day. I’m also married and you made me think of the Michael Blumenthal poem called ‘Marriage.’

    I read a little further down and saw a post about writing a few minutes everyday.

    As an Emmy nominate screenwriter and Author I try to tell aspiring writers to not make the mistake of thinking to write. Writers must always ‘write to think.’

    When writers think to write we run the risk of thinking all day.

    When we’re on a television series we have very little time to turn around our episodes, so it’s better to just put (childlike) ideas on paper and build from there.

    It works…!!!

    Like

    1. Hello. Sorry I am just getting around to repling to everyone’s comments. First, thank you for checking out my blog. I am glad you liked this piece.

      I completely agree with putting random ideas on paper and see what comes from it. I was aspiring to write everyday, but life gets in the way. However, I am now mobile, (laptop), and I hope this will help me write more often because it does work.

      I hope you enjoyed reding my blog and hope you visit often. Or as often as I post new material. 🙂

      Like

  3. Came across your blog and you have put a smile on my face this morning in Madeira. I agree about the 14th Feb….We should not be told when to be romantic…..I will visit your blog often, even if it is every 2 weeks….

    Great to connect.

    Check out my blog and become a follower…..Oh and Happy V D……Had to say it…………………

    Like

Let it out... we are all listening.

