Have Legs, Will Run.


Sunday is my day to run. Actually, everyday is a day to run, but Sundays are special. This day is reserved for distance running or as runners call it, long run days.

I started running in high school over 10 years ago. The military kept me running, (all the time), after high school. Eventually, I stopped running. My military time was over and I became more interested in me, something I never experienced while growing up. It wasn’t until I moved to Colorado that the running fever struck, nearly 3 years ago. The altitude was particularly hard to adjust to. I figured I could just start running like a normal below sea level person. This was definitely not the case. So I started slowly and began walking. Finally, 1 year later I started running. Not at what I would have liked. My runs were more walking than running.

It was a year later and I finally could almost run 3 miles without thinking I was going to die. There were many walls to break down. The voices in my head was the first and hardest. Not the psycho voices that tell you to do things… the other voice that tells you you’re not good enough. It tells you to quit. That voice is a bastard. I tried drowning it out with music. That didn’t work. It seemed that nothing would work.

Eventually, it took another person to push me past what I never thought I would be able to do. My friend and boss, asked if I would join her in a half marathon.

A half marathon?!? I couldn’t even run 4 miles, much less 13. Also, at the time she asked, I had no earthly idea how many miles a half marathon was. I looked at her as confidently as possible and nodded nervously. We have not run a race together and it would take over a year for us to run together at all, but I took her challenge.

I evaluated the best training plan and set my eyes on a race, one year away. The Rock n’ Roll Denver Marathon. One year… that should be enough time, right?

It was a rough journey, but I did it. I set my self up and ran 2 races before “the race”. I ran a 5k and a 10k. It was settled, I had the racing bug and it was better than any drug. I ran the half without stopping and a wore a smile that never left my face.

That’s me after I ran 13.1 miles in the Rock n’ Roll Denver Marathon. I was so happy. It was a very cold day, but at that moment I hadn’t a care in the wold. Everything was right, nothing could have been better.

Sunday is running day. It is also a great day to race. I know that as long as my legs are working, I will run and run and run……

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Trail Tuesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let it out... we are all listening.

