My Long Reflection


Reflecting

It’s another day into a year that seems to be flying by. I am reflecting today. This blog was created in November of last year. It has grown in so many ways. The layout is different and the topic has changed. I refocused the blog to a different group of people. I even have a Facebook page. You can like it here. 😉 However, I still love to write. Even though I haven’t written for pleasure in a long time, I think about it every day.

MY BOOKS

Here is where the reflection comes in. I have numerous ideas for books, short stories, and children’s books. Over the course of many years, I jot down my ideas and sometimes get started on them. My problem is that I do not finish anything. (almost anything)

I did finish a scary story and actually sent it in to an editor. It was sent back, as I knew it would. It needs a complete re-write and I am okay with that. Have I started? No. I started writing some children’s stories about morals. I have completed 2 out of the 8 proposed stories. Another task goes incomplete. I have this great story about a girl who has a horrible past and did her best to cover it up. Years later it is being uncovered – literally. Good plot lines – romance, thrills, action. Status? Not finished. I have other books in the making. Status? You guessed it – not finished.

I reflect today on the things undone. This summer, I would love to finish them. I fear it will not happen. The reasons could pile up to the ceiling, but they are merely excuses. I almost started to list my numerous excuses and then decided to erase. Oh that backspace button. So instead of finding reasons why I can’t finish these publications in the making, I will start with listing the things I want to do and cross them off as I go. This list will be visible for all the world to see. I shall give my self reasonable deadlines, (I need this), and pursue each with everything I have. I hope this will teach me a thing or two about the one thing I cannot grasp – time management skills. I have a slight grasp, but my palms are sweaty and my body is tired from dangling off this rocky cliff. Nevertheless, it shall be done!!

I will call this list….

The List of Possibles

1. Polish ‘Decisions‘ – Send to editor

2. Find an illustrator, (cheap) for 1st children’s book. Try to publish.

3. Start re-writing scary story. Start screenwriting process.

4. Finish rest of children’s books about morals. 3-8 (only 5 left!)

5. Finish second book.

6. Start second book.

Task 1 – Due Saturday, June 16th

Task 2 – Due to an editor, when I find perfect illustrator – any takers???

Task 3 – Due October 31st – Seems fitting. 😉

Task 4 – Due December 31st – Also seems fitting.

Task 5 – To be started in January – Finished by March (it looks to be a long tale)

Task 6 – Only to be started when ALL other tasks are finished. Start time – April. End time – September or October – This one will take a lot of research.

There. 6 tasks. Should be pretty easy. I hope everyone will check back to this post to keep up on my progress. I am a HUGE procrastinator, so this should be interesting. Maybe I can look back on this and reflect in a different manner. That I actually can finish something and make something of myself. It’s a slow process, but I want to do it with hard work and originality.

OTHER PEOPLES BOOKS

I read 2 books this week; Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter and The Hunger Games. I am going to give a short review of each and my opinion.

The first book, Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by: Seth Grahame-Smith, (my favorite author – who also wrote: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies- awesome book), was all I expected it to be and more. It was bloody, action packed, and gave a great insight to a man with a rich history. I really recommend this book and any other book by Seth Grahame-Smith. The book follows Abraham throughout his entire life. It has inserts from his journals and gives details about his hunt for these vicious demons. These monsters that took most of his family, wife, and sons, not to mention his soul. He has vowed to kill them until his last breath. His adventure takes you to the deepest, darkest places in his mind. The story, even though I am sure isn’t real, leaves you questioning the truth about one of the greatest presidents in American history. You are sure to leave the book with a wonderful, exciting tale of a president who freed all men from tyranny, even himself.

Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The next book, The Hunger Games by: Suzanne Collins, was better than I thought it would be. I do have one negative thing to say about the book. First, I want to say that I am by no means a master of grammar, but I do have a general knowledge of the rules. With that being said, I had a bit of trouble following the book because I started to become obsessed with the errors. I tried my best to overlook it and decided that maybe it was published in its form on purpose. Maybe the fragments, run-ons, and improper use of commas was meant to be left alone to give the book more of a diary feel. I suspect this only because it was written in first person and it somehow gives the reader a more personal feeling toward the main character. This is actually a big negative because it can make a good book hard to read. As I said before, I am not the grammar queen, but it is something I noticed. The book is good. I loved the blood, gore, action, her fight for survival, her sense of humor, ( and sometimes lack of), the books infinite details, and the gripping hook at the end. It has compelled me to, someday, buy the next in series. I also will see the movie. I know, I’m a late bloomer. But better late than never.

Cover of "The Hunger Games"
Cover of The Hunger Games

This is a long post. I may not have time to keep the post going this week, which brings me to part 3 of my blogging.

THE BLOGGING SCHEDULE

I would love to post something everyday. I often run out of pictures and funny things my husband says. So I would like to venture on a path traveled frequently by bloggers. However, I do not want to go the traditional way. I will conform, but not fully. I have been considering labels, (which I hate) for each day of the week and gearing a post towards the label. Obviously, I don’t like to label things and feel that if I want to blog, I should be able to let my long fingers talk about anything they want.

I am going to give my list and I would like your opinion, if you are still with me and this long post.

  1. Manic Monday – posts or rants. Mondays suck. Let’s make ourselves feel better by bitching and by ‘ourselves’, I mean the voices in my head. I must appease them. 😉
  2. Trail Tuesday – Maybe I can focus this day on running.
  3. Wacky Wednesday – Who cares what I talk about. It’s freaking Wednesday.
  4. Teachy Thursday – I have class Wednesday night. I would like to use this day to recap my thoughts – if any.
  5. F&%@ing Friday – Who cares what I talk about. It’s f@$%ing Friday.
  6. Surprise Me Saturday – I may start volunteering at the animal shelter. I think I would like to save Saturdays to talk about that. Or you may never know. It’s a surprise!
  7. Fun-Day Sunday – I guess I better start doing fun things.

What do you think? Yeah? Nay?

If I have a goal, it might help move this blog along. I have about 45 followers and many people like the pictures, quotes, and sometimes my long rambles. I think it could really go somewhere with a schedule. Or I can just go with the flow of whatever I think feels right.

This post has helped me reflect on where I have been and where I know I want to go. It’s just a matter of getting there.

Thanks for reading!!

Let it out... we are all listening.

