Let The Mayhem Begin


So it’s Tuesday, Trail Tuesday!

I’m actually glad that I started this blog schedule. It keeps me better organized.

I did something very random this weekend. The idea came to me while running, as most insane ideas do. While barely making it to the 3 mile mark, I had an idea. The mother of all ideas. Why not, as I panted for breath, run a full marathon!! It’s brilliant, right? Right? Oh who am I kidding, it’s the best freaking idea ever. Do you feel the sarcasim in the air?

I let the idea float in my brain until I reached the house. I went to my computer, found a race, and signed myself up. That’s when my ‘brilliant idea’ started to drape over me with gentle hands. I trusted the idea, until it started choking me with a grip of nerves and fear. 26.2 miles. 2 half-marathons consecutively. It’s not like it’s never been done before. People do it all the time. Why am I freaking out?!?!

Well, it’s been a couple of days and the idea finally let loose of my neck. I feel quite confident I will be able to manage this run. However, I am having a huge confidence problem or something. My problem is that I can’t seem to run past 4 miles. I am getting too tired too fast. I am not, however, giving in to this ‘problem’. I don’t operate that way.

Let’s get back to the situation at hand. I signed up for a full marathon. The race is an out-of-state race. Click here to get more details.

Mother Road Marathon. It runs through 3 states along the historic Route 66. Should be a great race.

So why did I choose this race and why did I opt to run 26.2 miles? (Don’t forget the 365 yards)

Plenty of my family members live in that area. My step-mom has almost all her family in Joplin, MO. where the race ends. I am from Springfield, MO. only an hour from Joplin. My mom and step-dad live about an hour away too. Many of these people have never seen me run a race. I’ve run 2 half-marathons, a few 5ks and a 10k. I might as run a full, right. And why not run a full in front of people who will be seeing me run for the first time, right? This seems like a phenomenal plan!

The race is in October. I have 4 months to train. This seems like plenty of time, but it really isn’t. If I want to run 26 miles, I’m going to need to break through my “I can’t run past 4 miles bull shit”, (sorry, but it’s true). I need to wake up earlier to beat the heat. I ran this morning at about 9 a.m. and the heat was too much. It has been hard to transition from my winter schedule to a summer schedule. But no damn excuses!! I will wake up earlier and run further. It has too be done!! I paid for the race. There are NO refunds. I’m committed.

So I started my training on Sunday. I planned to run to Costco. This is about 6 miles. I made it to 3.5 miles. I started too late. The sun was bearing down on my face and the heat was too much. I ran this morning and it was the same thing. It obviously takes a while for this lesson to soak in – wake up earlier.

This brings me to my next thought. A schedule. I had an app that I paid for and it had a great schedule. The app went through some changes and started to charge for a schedule. What?! I pay for the app and then pay for its services! Get lost. I have been looking online, but can’t find a decent one to fit my needs. If you are reading this because you love to run, perhaps you can help me out.

If you have any tips, comments, or words of encouragement, let me know. Do you have a training schedule that you love? Is there a website that you are sure is awesome? Drop me a line. I really appreciate it.

Here I go. On a journey to run 26.2 miles, in front of my family. Here’s to hopes and dreams that turn into reality. Tune in every Tuesday to see how I am doing. It’s sure to be pretty entertaining.

Depiction of Dorando Pietri staggering across ...
Depiction of Dorando Pietri staggering across the finish line of the 1908 Olympic marathon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

One thought on “Let The Mayhem Begin

Let it out... we are all listening.

