THE SCRUB….


Remember last weekend? Oh, you were drunk? Well, I often am too. I won’t judge you. Do you remember all the things I wanted to blog about, but didn’t because no one wants to read 1,000 words about random nonsense? Well, I am going to blog about something I made last Saturday; body scrub.

Usually I would not make such a thing, but I saw a recipe on the internet and thought I’d give it a shot. It was much cheaper than spending another 7$ on a new tub of the stuff. So I gathered some things.

The Things.

I bought the organic sugar because I find it to be coarser, which is something you want if you are exfoliating. The vanilla is just for smell, the brown sugar – I’m not sure what that is for, and the oil makes it stick together. The process is really easy and takes less than 5 minutes. I used 1 cup of both types of sugar, 1 tablespoon of vanilla, and enough oil to keep the sugars together.

The Organic Sugar

The Brown Sugar, or Burnt Cocaine as it is known in my house. ūüėČ

Burnt Cocaine

The Oil and Vanilla Mixture

This process can take a while if you just let the oil soak in by itself.  I grabbed a spoon and assisted the process.

Here is the finished product. I have a label maker and I thought it a fine time to use it.

You can’t really see that, but it says SUGAR SCRUB with fancy flowers on the side.

Here is my assessment of the homemade product.

  1. It does not work as well as the sugar scrub bought in the store.
  2. The oil stays on your skin and you have to wash with soap to get it off. This is a problem for me because it is inconvenient. I like to shave after a good exfoliation¬†and when you have massive amounts of oil penetrating your skin, you ruin a razor blade. Sure, I can lather after the scrub, but that just messed up my whole routine and I am suddenly thinking about all the people who can’t take showers. Woe is me.
  3. When I went to the bucket a week later for a second scrub, the brown sugar was clumpy. I should have known it would do that. I added water to the tub and this fixed the problem, but really – this is an annoyance.

I am not sure I will be making a second batch. I leave the steps here for you because maybe you can experiment with the mixture and find something that works. Next time I will not use oil, (olive oil). I will find something else. Or go back to the dreaded Wally World where they hold captive my favorite scrub for 7$. There has to be a better way, my skin deserves it.

Posted on August 26, 2012, in Fun Day Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let it out... we are all listening.

