It’s Like Riding The Gravy Train – Mmm…


I didn’t post yesterday, but I did post on my Facebook page. If you’re not following me there, you’re missing out – not really. I’m not that annoying person who post random memes all day and continually asks that you follow my page or else. However, that is NOT the point of this blog post.

I want to tell you that I and another part of me, are training for a marathon. That’s right folks, I am going to see if I can torture myself once more.

It is the Colfax Marathon held in Denver, Colorado. I have run the half-marathon with them before and it was nice. I ran one of my fastest times there.

So now that I have decided to run this race, I will now be training to run this race. <—- 🙂

I live in Florida now, so this should be very interesting. I’m already up to running for an hour. That, my friends is what I want to talk about.

I injured myself training for the last marathon. After that race, I did not run for over a year. I then tore my knee ligaments dancing or possibly doing spy related things in my sleep. THEN – I messed up my other knee. Slowly, I have been doing some strength training. I have been walking. I took part in some light yoga. I am not entirely healed, but I feel much better about my situation than before.

When you don’t exercise for a while, it can be hard to get back into your groove. Your breath is heavier, your muscles ache. It really sucks and it can make you want to quit. Running has the opposite effect on me. I never tire, I never feel weak, and my mind never lets thoughts of defeat cloud my ego. When I first started running, those thoughts were always there and more often than not, I was sure I wouldn’t make it. However, once you do make it, and you keep repeating the process, you now know nothing can make that change. It was the same when I ran that first hour after all the time away from running. It was as if I never stopped. The one word to describe that first hour run – effortless.

There are times when I don’t want to run. I don’t want to get out of bed. But I now know there will never be a time when my mind is certain I can’t do it because I can.

When you push yourself to your limit and you are certain you won’t make it, keep going. Once you finish, round two will be a breeze.

Posted on September 16, 2014, in Trail Tuesdays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let it out... we are all listening.

