The Demons Within


I have posted so many things that when I go to my notes, I have to remember if I’ve shared it. However, I think this piece is share free. If not, please remember my famous words: I’m not here to please you. 

I do, however, hope you enjoy this poem and your Saturday. Sleep tight tonight. 

I cannot sleep the
walls are closing in


There are footsteps
in the hall and underneath the bed


The monsters have
all found a decent place to play


They’re the ones
that haunt me early in the day


The walls are
talking and the floor moans


The air that fakes
peace chokes at all my bones


The bed feels like
spiders nesting in my skin


Each hair that
brushes my cheek is a snake burrowing in


My pillow is a bag
of sharps begging to infect my blood


The shadows in the
corner dance like a raging flood


But sleep stays with
someone else who needs to dream of me


For I lay awake
fighting demons in a drunk and furious sea
.

Let it out... we are all listening.

