The Darkness


A short story about losing your mind. 

The dreams are strange. The confusion upon waking grows. It festers, boils, and locks on to what may be reality. Were they dreams? Was it what is perceived as real? My mind can barely tell the difference. 

When I woke in the morning, my body pulsed from the heat brewing inside me. I paused before I plummeted down the steps. Visions oozed through my mind. They slowly began to erase what my eyes saw around me. The trees merged into the buildings. The cars melted into the asphalt. The birds vanished into the clouds. I held onto the railing as I slowly made my way down the stairs, out of my apartment. I shut my eyes tight, hoping it would all go away. The sun broke my concentration. When I opened my eyes, the world was melting. I gripped the railing tighter. My body temperature rose and my pulsing skin began to keep pace with my  quickening heartbeat. I sat on the steps, refusing to ungrip the rail. The world was melting into my dreams. 

I envisioned the melting buildings and trees merging into monsters. The birds were popping when they touched a cloud. Their blood soaked remains covering the ground below them. The cars sank into the asphalt that began to boil. I screamed. The screams were not enough to drown the sounds inside my head. Strange voices began to emerge, calling my name slowly. They grew louder and began to increase the pace. I screamed until my voice cracked. I covered my ears. I shut my eyes. I rocked back and forth. I broke and started to cry. The tears were hot and I could feel them burning my skin. I tried to stop crying, but I couldn’t. I scratched at my face until it bled. My nail beds were covered in flesh. 

The world was melting and starting to fade. The darkness oozed over the monsters. It flowed over the clouds. The birds fell to the ground, but now walking away unharmed. The darkness crept over asphalt, cooling it’s boiling core. The cars froze from the cooling ground. My screams were stolen from my lungs. The darkness reached inside and took all the air. Black surrounded my corneas. It pushed me into the steps. I laid in an uncomfortable position, frozen; the world consuming me. 

Large amounts of time passes. I hear beeping, but it feels far away. The air is cold and it smells of bleached urine. I try to open my eyes, but they are heavy. I try to move my body, but it’s weighted down, constricted. If only my eyes would open so I could see. A light flashes and it blinds me. I hold my eyes shut. The beeping is louder. The smell of urine is stronger. A shadow crosses over me. I slowly open my eyes. She wears white and stands over me. I look down at my arms to see I am confined, strapped to a bed. She takes a syringe from her pocket and injects the line coming from my arm. I try to fight, I can’t. Sleep drapes it’s blanket over me, the darkness returns. 

Posted on May 20, 2016, in It's F@#$ing Friday!, Random Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Let it out... we are all listening.

