When You Are Lost, Remember – You Have Friends 


I often get lost in my thoughts. I drown in my sorrow. I forget about the people who love me. I disregard the opportunities to pick up a phone and ask for a lending ear. I toss aside all that is given. I forget I have friends. 

It’s not the friends who only call when they want something. It isn’t the friends who only drop by because you received money or bought a fancy new toy. 

These are friends who would give you everything they have. They would listen to your sorrows and wipe your tears. They are the definition of friendship. 

I soon leave behind friends who love me. 

I didn’t really know they did. I wasn’t fully aware. I was naive. I was certain I had the type of friends who weren’t really committed. In reality, I wasn’t actually sure of the friendships I held. I took most for granted. 

Tonight, as I sat around a table with my friends, I realized I had more than fleeting friendships. I had built foundations. I had nurtured lasting, beautiful friendships that I know will endure.  

I feel I realize this too late as my time in this state draws to a close. However, I also know that it’s better to realize this now than to never realize it at all. 

This past week has been amazing. I have met with people who I was sure I’d never see again. I reunited with people I never want to lose contact with. These are my people. They are people I can call. They are people I can rely upon. 

I love them. 

Friendships are a delicate thing. For a while, I remained confused; unsure of what I held. Tonight, and this past week reassures me that no matter what I am going through, no matter how bad I want to give up, and no matter how hard I struggle, I have friends that are willing to help me hold on. 

They are the ones – the ones I will never take for granted. I will always remember I have friends. 

Let it out... we are all listening.

