Take Some Time For Gratitude


I don’t do this enough because I become too envolved with the negatives of life. It’s as if you wake and can only focus on how your neck hurts, how your bank account is empty, and how someone drank the last of the milk. There isn’t any creamer for your coffee. The neighbors are too loud. You have a million things to do and no time. Why didn’t they call back? 

It’s an all too familiar scenario and it plagues us until we are so consumed with the negative we forget to concentrate on all the good. 

I have been consumed with too much negativity. I also believe that when I go to all my social media outlets, I see negativity, and all though I pretend it doesn’t bother me, it does. I not only consume myself with my own negatitivity, I inadvertently become consumed with the negatitivity of others. It’s a double edged sword. 

I left a job where gratitude was part of the process. I even sat in a circle and heard gratitude from those who didn’t believe they deserved it. However, they paused every day and found gratitude somewhere. It was small, it was big, but it was something. 

Today, I pause at my current attitude. I pause because it is negative, and if I am not careful, it will do more than consume me; it will devour me and I will cease to exist. 

I want to take time each day and find a few or more things to remind me about gratitude. Perhaps this seems trivial to some. However, I have seen a few words of gratitude make a huge difference. So here is to finding a little more positive in a world that seems bleak. While we are consuming ourselves with negatitivity and vise versa, let’s pause and think of some gratitude. 

Here is mine for the day:

  • I have people who love me. They love me so much they are willing to take care of the things I love, like my dog. Thank you mom for taking care of Einstein. I am forever grateful for your enduring thoughtfulness. 
  • I have access to a great job, and if I am not careful, I will sabotage it before I even begin. It’s a sales job. I am not the best at sales, but that is because I over analyze, and I self-sabotage. I am my own worst enemy. However, I am fearless, motivated, dedicated , and in the words of a great friend, I am a badass. So here I am, on the verge of a new prospect. I am grateful for those who believe in me and all the wonderful things I can achieve. 
  • I am grateful for a niece who is beyond amazing. I hope I can be the person she already believes me to be. I am grateful for all the time we get to spend together. They are memories I will cherish forever.

Take some time out of your busy life to pause and be grateful. I am certain you will find more than three. Share them to everyone or share it only to yourself. Either way, be grateful and never let the negativity consume you. 

Let it out... we are all listening.

